Santa Barbara, California Travel Guide

Anna
5 min readDec 24, 2020

As a local having grown up in Santa Barbara County, an area about 2 hours north of Los Angeles, I’ve been just about everywhere. From the beaches to the mountains, I love where I’ve spent the past two decades of my life and will certainly always return back for a visit. Over the years, I’ve figured out what my absolute favorite places are in Santa Barbara and want to share them here if you’re a tourist planning on visiting the area. And if not, hopefully this article convinces you to visit sometime.

Gibraltar Road. Photo credit: https://everydayrunaway.com/travel/the-best-hikes-in-santa-barbara/

1. Drive up Gibraltar Road.

One of my all-time favorite activities is to drive about 30–45 minutes up the steep roads on the mountains just east of Santa Barbara. The drive up is beautiful with constant ocean and mountainous views. By the time you reach the top, you can catch a full view of the Channel Islands (as partially seen in the photo above). My biggest recommendation: grab some food from a local Mexican restaurant and have a picnic either on top of your car or on the rocks when you reach the top. It’s also probably the best location in the entire town to be to watch a sunrise or sunset.

Santa Barbara Mission. Photo credit: https://missionscalifornia.com/santa-barbara-mission

2. Have a picnic in front of the Santa…

--

--

Anna
0 Followers

just an American college student who's obsessed with traveling & needs to find a new hobby other than planning European vacations